Search
  • teamvegivale

The Best Vegan Halloween Candies



Hi there VegiFam! It’s spoooOOoOOky season ya’ll! And just because we won’t be able to trick-or-treat like usual doesn’t mean we can’t pick up a few candy treats to celebrate Halloween in isolation.


Even if you aren’t vegan, some of your favorite candies might already be vegan! So, when you head to the grocery store to grab your candy of choice for fright night, get one of these awesome vegan options, like Airheads, Sour Patch Kids, Skittles, or Smarties. In fact, most gummy and chewy candies are accidentally vegan (as long as you look out for pesky ingredients like gelatin).


What happens, though, if your favorite candy turns out not to be vegan? We’ve compiled a list of the best vegan alternatives to your favorite traditional Halloween candies, so you can celebrate Halloween this year plant-based and cruelty-free. 




1. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups


Reese’s contains milk products, so they aren’t vegan. But, that doesn’t mean you can’t have your chocolate and peanut butter fix. There’s a whole slew of vegan candies that resemble Resse’s, like Justin’s and Unreal, which can be found at your local grocery store or online. Many of the varieties are also Fair Trade certified, which means they’re sustainable and ethical as well. Alternatives include Go Max Go, Justin’s, Unreal, free2b, and No Whey! brands. 



2. M&Ms


This crunchy and sweet chocolate candy unfortunately isn’t vegan. The original contains both dairy and food colorings tested on animals. However, There are many available alternatives for M&Ms, though, like Little Secrets Chocolate Pieces, which are available online through their website and Amazon. Although they aren’t certified vegan because they’re processed in the same facility as dairy, these little chocolate treats come in not only the plain, original flavor, but also recreate peanut butter, peanut, mint chocolate chip, and peppermint. They offer variety packs on their website, too, in case you can’t decide which one to get for your scary movie binge!




3. Snickers


Snickers, while full of caramel and chocolatey goodness, is also full of milk and eggs. Additionally, a traditional Snickers contains palm oil, and the palm oil industry is notorious for unethical practices. Luckily, Go Max Go makes vegan alternatives to tons of your favorite candy bars, and their take on Snickers is perfection. Called Jokerz, the chocolate is non- dairy, delicious, and vegan. However, Jokerz still contains palm oil (which can have negative impacts on your health and environment…. But then again this IS a blog about candy so take that with a grain of salt ;) . If you’re looking for an alternative with no palm oil, it’s pretty easy to make your own homemade Snickers with this recipe from Loving It Vegan.


4. Hershey’s Chocolate Bars


Unfortunately, Hershey’s chocolate contains milk. However, there are lots of ways to fill your chocolate craving. PETA offers an amazing list of chocolate bars, with everything from nutty flavors to rich dark chocolate. Check it out here.



5. Candy Corn


Okay, we get it, candy corn is a pretty divisive candy. BUT, it is also a Halloween classic, so we had to include it in our roundup. Most candy corn is made from sugar and corn syrup, which is perfectly vegan. However, most popular brands of candy corn candies also contain gelatin, egg whites, or some other animal product which vegans can’t have. Thrive Cuisine compiled a list of simple candy corn recipes you can make to keep your spooky spirit happy. 


Since trick-or treating isn’t happening this year, it’s a great reason to also try and do Halloween with zero plastic waste! You can buy candy in bulk at most grocery stores, or make your own. Many vegan candies also come in compostable packaging or cardboard boxes. Just do a little extra homework before finding your candy of choice this year. :)


Happy Halloween, VegiFam! Use this spooky excuse to wear your mask, and stay safe!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2021 by VegiVale Wellness LLC